Students | Alumni News 2018


Darren Byler received a 2017-18 Chiang Ching Kuo Foundation Dissertation Fellowship and a Society of Scholars Fellowship from the Simpson Center for his dissertation entitled, "The Art of Life in Ürümchi: Precariousness, Aesthetics and Minority Politics in Chinese Central Asia."

Juan Luo received a 2018 Thomas Francis Jr. Global Health Fellowship Award from the UW Department of Global Health for travel and project expenses while conducting preliminary fieldwork in China.

Alexandra Hammerberg received a National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) for three years beginning 2018. She also received an Amazon Catalyst Grant to fund a novel surgical recovery boot prototype. The boot will offer feedback to patient during patient recovery from surgery or injury, improving communication and facilitating informed recovery plans. 

Ian Kretzler, was awarded a 2018 NSF Dissertation Improvement Grant, and was also awarded the Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship for 2018-19. This one-year fellowship will allow Ian to complete his dissertationLandscapes of Survivance: Archaeology of Reservation Lifeways at Grand Ronde.

Justin McCarthy received a 2018-19 Native American Humanities and Social Sciences Fellowship from the Graduate Opportunities and Minority Achievement Program (Go-Map).

Tiffany Pan received a 2018 NSF Dissertation Improvement Grant and a 2018 Wenner-Gren dissertation grant for her doctoral research on, "Microchimerism: An Evolutionary Perspective."

Hugo Puerto received a 2018-19 Foreign Language Areas Studies Fellowship for Portuguese and a 2018 Thomas Francis Jr Global Health Fellowship Award from the UW Department of Global Health for travel and project expenses while conducting preliminary fieldwork in Colombia.

Leyla Savloff was awarded the AAUW Dissertation Fellowship for 2018-19. The one-year fellowship will allow Leyla to complete her dissertation, "Entre Mujeres" — The Social and Political Spheres of Women Against Prisons (an ethnography of freedom, political motherhood, and feminine creativity).

Claudia Serrato received the Stroum Dissertation fellowship from the Graduate Opportunities for Minority Achievement Program (GO-MAP) for 2017-2018 for completing her dissertation tentatively titled, Embodying Ancestral Knowledge: Indigenous Culinary Art and Cuisine in Turtle Islands' Food Sovereignty Movement.”

Evi Sutrisno received a 2017-18 Chiang Ching Kuo Foundation Dissertation Fellowship for her dissertation entitled, "Negotiating Confucian Religion in Indonesia: The Invention, Resilience and Revival (1900-2010)," and won for summer 2018 a research fellowship from the Institute for Advanced Study in Asian Cultures and Theologies at the Divinity School of Chung Chi College, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Joss Whittaker was awarded an NSF Dissertation Improvement Grant for to support his archaeological fieldwork in the Aru Islands of Indonesia in 2018.

Incoming graduate students Hope Loiselle and Miguel Ochoa each received National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) funding for three years beginning 2018.



Kamaka'ike (Natalie) Bruecher, dual BA in Anthropology: Medical Anthropology and Global Health and Public Health, was named to the 2018 Husky 100. Each year, the Husky 100 recognizes 100 UW undergraduate and graduate students from Bothell, Seattle and Tacoma in all areas of study who are making the most of their time at the UW.

Meron Girma (Medical Anthropology and Global Health) received a Foreign Language and Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowship in Swahili for the 2018-19 academic year. This training will help prepare her for her future work practicing medicine and addressing inequities in the Ugandan and Kenyan healthcare system.

Monica Romero (BA 2018) is embarking onto a new journey, pursuing a career in public interest law. Monica is completing a senior honors thesis involving a collaborative ethnographic study of DACA (Dreamer) activists focused on the changing political subjectivity of the Dreamers and their forms and modes of enacted political citizenship through varied forms of activism.



Jeannie F. Bailey (PhD 2016) won the 2017 Spine Journal Outstanding Paper: Medical Invention/Science for her post-doctoral work on spaceflights effect on lower back pain.

Jennifer J. Carroll (MPH/PhD 2015) accepted a tenure track position asAssistant Professor of Anthropology at Elon University in North Carolina. She continues her work as a researcher at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in support of the National Heroin Response Strategy

Heather Clark (PhD 2010) conducted and facilitated focus groups on behalf of the King County Executive's Inquest Process Review Committee. She wrote an Executive Summary with the Review Committee providing recommendations to the KC Executive at the end of March.

Yasmin Habib (BA 2012) received King County's Best Starts for Kids award in 2017 for her non-profit, World Mind Creation Academy.

Katie Hinde (BA 1999) received the 2017 Individual Award for her blog, “Mammals Suck … Milk!” and her educational tool, "March Mammal Madness,” from the General Anthropology Division. Katie Hinde is an associate professor in the School of Human Evolution and Social Change at ASU.

Kathryn Zyskowski (PhD 2018) started as a researcher at Facebook focusing on gender and security.